Stoke Road, Guildford, Surrey, GU1 4DT

01483 566586

Sandfield Primary School

Challenge ourselves and one another, Learn together, Achieve success



The Governing Body at Sandfield Primary School is a very committed and hard working group of volunteers whose primary concern is the education, well-being and happiness of the children and staff. We come from all walks of life and backgrounds and represent the parents, staff, and local community.

The role of the Governors is to ensure clarity of vision, ethos and strategic direction of the school; oversee the financial performance of the school and make sure its money is well spent; contribute to the school’s self-evaluation and understand its strengths and weaknesses; support and strengthen school leadership, holding the Headteacher and Senior Leadership Team to account for improving the educational performance of the school and its pupils, and the performance management of staff.

The day-to-day running and management of the school is the role of the educational professionals, namely the Headteacher and his Senior Leadership Team. Through monitoring the different aspects of the school’s work we aim to help the Senior Leadership Team to identify the school’s strengths and weaknesses and then support the school as it seeks to develop strategies for improvement.

The Governing Body of a school is based on a stakeholder model; that is to say it is made up of representatives of those groups who have an interest in how effective the delivery of education and care is in school. This includes parents, staff, and the local community.
The Governors elected to become a Sponsored Academy from 1 September 2014 as part of the Guildford Education Partnership (GEP) Multi Academy Trust. The school-to-school support from the Sponsor Academy (GEP) is leading to sharing of best practice, resources and facilities, with the long- term goal of improving provision and outcomes for the children and retaining staff.

Annual Statement of the Key Issues Faced and Addressed by the Local Academy Committee Over 2016-2017

Register of Interests 2017-2018

Attendance 2017-2018

Documents of Interest:

GEP Annual Report/ Accounts 2016-2017

GEP Annual Report/ Accounts 2015-2016

GEP Articles of Association

GEP Master Funding Agreement

GEP Register of Interests

GEP Scheme of Delegation

GEP Structure

GEP Trustees and Members


The Governing Body at Sandfield is made up of 13 different members:

6 Community members who are chosen from the local community, 3 members who are elected by the parents of the school, 3 Staff members, including the Headteacher, who are elected by their colleagues, 1 member from the GEP executive board. Our Chair of Governors is Mrs Katherine Hammersley and can be contacted on the email below.

The full Governing Body meet once a term to set the school’s strategic framework and to ensure all statutory duties are met.  

We also have 2 main committees:

  • Leadership and Management Committee (L&M): who are involved with all budgeting and staffing issues, premises, health and safety.
  • Achievement and Standards Committee (A&S): who monitor and support everything to do with children’s learning, behaviour and welfare.

There are several other smaller committees who meet to do specific jobs at various times in the year and working parties are also formed to carry out specific tasks as needed.

Contact Email address: 


Nominated MEMBERS OF THE Local Academy Committee

Children in Care, Dr Catherine Frost

Audit Committee Function, within the GEP

Member responsible for Liaison with the Local Authority in the Event of an Allegation (Child Protection) Against the Headteacher, Mrs Katherine Hammersley

Headteacher's Performance Management Panel, Mrs Katherine Hammersley, Dr Catherine Frost, Representative from the GEP

Child Protection and Safeguarding, Dr Catherine Frost and Mrs Claire Worsley

Special Educational Needs and Disabilities (SEND), Mrs Katherine Hammersley 

Pupil Premium, Ms Melanie Hancox

Finance, Mr Chris Hooper

Health and Safety, Mr Martin Watts

Link Member, Mr Martin Watts

PTA Member, Mrs Naomi Skull

SCITTs and NQTs, Ms Evelyn Slavid



Leadership and Management

Dr Catherine Frost, Chair

Mr Jonathan Kirkham, Headteacher

Mr Chris Hooper

Mrs Catherine Perceval

Mrs Naomi Skull

Mrs Claire Worsley

 Achievement and Standards

Ms Melanie Hancox, Chair 

Mr Jonathan Kirkham, Headteacher

Mrs Katherine Hammersley

Mrs Jennie Mason

Ms Evelyn Slavid

Mr Martin Watts

Pay and Appraisal Committee

Dr Catherine Frost, Chair

Mrs Katherine Hammersley

Mr Chris Hooper





Appeals Committee

Ms Evelyn Slavid, Chair

Ms Melanie Hancox

Mr Martin Watts

Headteacher's Appraisal Committee

Mrs Katherine Hammersley

Dr Catherine Frost

Mrs Elizabeth Corlett (GEP)

Staff Representation Panel

Mrs Katherine Hammersley, Chair 

Mrs Naomi Skull

Mr Chris Hooper



Mrs Alison Faulkner